2018 CFB Hall of Fame ballot includes Tim Couch, Kevin Faulk, Patrick Willis

college football hall of fame

Eight former SEC players are on the ballot for induction into the 2018 class to the College Football Hall of Fame. The announcement of who was voted in will be made January 8 in Atlanta.

The eight former SEC players:

Florida OT Lomas Brown
Auburn LB Gregg Carr
Kentucky QB Tim Couch
LSU RB Kevin Faulk
Alabama DE E.J. Junior
Auburn DB Buddy McClinton
Georgia OT Matt Stinchcomb
Ole Miss LB Patrick Willis

In addition, Arkansas defensive tackle Dan Hampton, Arkansas linebacker Cliff Powell and Texas A&M defensive lineman Jacob Green are on the ballot, but they played when their schools were in other conferences (Hampton and Powell in the now-defunct Southwest Conference, Green in the SWC). Former South Carolina, Texas Tech and West Virginia coach Jim Carlen also is a candidate; he coached the Gamecocks when they were an independent.

There are 75 players and six coaches from the FBS ranks and 98 players and 31 coaches from the small-school ranks on the ballot. Among the other player candidates are Mark Carrier, Eric Dickerson, Tony Gonzalez, Matt Leinart, Ray Lewis, Troy Polamalu and Warren Sapp, along with two former Heisman winners, Eric Crouch and Charles Woodson. Among the coach candidates are Frank Beamer and Mack Brown.

The entire list of candidates is here. And a searchable list of those already in the hall is here.

From the National Football Foundation website: “To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a first-team All-American by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60 percent of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years. If a coach is retired and over the age of 70, there is no waiting period. If he is over the age of 75, he is eligible as an active coach. In both cases, the candidate’s post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.”

(You can follow Dan Mathews on Twitter @DanMathewsATL)

© 2016, gridironnow.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To Top