Annual coordinator salaries show SEC just pays more (especially at LSU)

Dave Aranda
Matt Bush-USA TODAY Sports

The SEC doesn’t just mean more. The conference also pays more, and the latest annual figures on coordinators’ salaries prove it.

Led by LSU defensive coordinator Dave Aranda, SEC coordinators head the list of highest salaries in college football, as compiled by USA Today.

Aranda, in his second year in charge of the Tigers’ defense, received $1.8 million this season to lead all coordinators across the Football Bowl Subdivision.

Combined with LSU offensive coordinator Matt Canada, who earned the fourth-highest coordinator salary of $1,505,000, Tigers’ coordinators earned roughly $800,000 more than the next highest-paid coordinator pair in the game.

Close behind were Alabama’s pair of defensive coordinator Jeremy Pruitt, the new head coach at Tennessee ($1.3 million) and offensive coordinator Brian Daboll ($1.2 million).

Texas A&M defensive coordinator John Chavis was third overall at $1,608,000, Auburn defensive coordinator Kevin Steele placed eighth at $1.2 million and Tennessee defensive coordinator Bob Shoop was ninth at $1,155,000, giving the conference seven of the nine highest-paid coordinators in college football.

Among the relative bargains: Georgia’s Jim Chaney and Mel Tucker drew only the SEC’s seventh-highest combined salaries to help the Bulldogs to the College Football Playoff, while Todd Grantham received $660,000 to turn Mississippi State from one of the conference’s worst defenses into one of the game’s very best.

Note that salaries for some private universities, including Vanderbilt, were not disclosed.

OC Matt Canada: $1,505,000
DC Dave Aranda: $1,800,000
Total: $3,305,000

OC Brian Daboll: $1,200,000
DC Jeremy Pruitt: $1,300,000
Total: $2,500,000

Texas A&M
OC Noel Mazzone: $800,000
DC John Chavis: $1,608,000
Total: $2,408,000

OC Doug Nussmeier: $1,144,225
DC Randy Shannon: $976,500
Total: $2,120,725

OC Chip Lindsey: $800,000
DC Kevin Steele: $1,200,000
Total: $2,000,000

OC Larry Scott: $655,000
DC Bob Shoop: $1,155,000
Total: $1,810,000

OC Jim Chaney: $850,000
DC Mel Tucker: $850,000
Total: $1,700,000

Ole Miss
OC Phil Longo: $600,000
DC Wesley McGriff: $1,000,000
Total: $1,600,000

OC Dan Enos: $800,000
DC Paul Rhoads: $700,000
Total: $1,500,000

OC Eddie Gran: $825,000
DC Matt House: $650,000
Total: $1,475,000

South Carolina
OC Kurt Roper: $700,000
DC Travaris Robinson: $750,000
Total: $1,450,000

OC Josh Heupel: $700,000
DC DeMontie Cross: $600,000
Total: $1,300,000

Mississippi State
DC Todd Grantham: $660,000
Note: Billy Gonzales and John Hevesy served as co-offensive coordinators at Mississippi State, and each earned $450,000.

© 2016, gridironnow.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To Top