LSU Team News

Back on the Bayou: 70+ members of LSU’s 2007 title team to return Saturday

LSU helmet
Derick E. Hingle/USA TODAY Sports

When Les Miles returns to LSU on Saturday, he won’t be alone – most of his 2007 national championship team will join him at Tiger Stadium.

More than 70 members of the Tigers’ national championship-winning team from 10 years ago will return to Baton Rouge for special recognition at Saturday’s game against Auburn, the athletic department announced Thursday.

The list includes Glenn Dorsey, the nose tackle who won the Outland Trophy, Lombardi Award, Nagurski Trophy and Lott IMPACT Trophy to become the program’s most decorated player ever.

Team captains Dorsey, quarterback Matt Flynn, All-American safety Craig Steltz, running back Jacob Hester and punter Patrick Fisher are scheduled to appear.

RELATED: Auburn-LSU is SEC’s best game this weekend

Additional notable players include All-SEC linebacker Darry Beckwith, All-SEC kicker Colt David, wide receivers Early Doucet and Brandon LaFell and All-SEC lineman Herman Johnson.

Miles, the former LSU coach who was fired last September, confirmed earlier this week that he will also be in attendance.

The 2007 Tigers fought back from a pair of triple-overtime losses against Kentucky and Arkansas, winning the SEC championship against Tennessee, then beating Ohio State in the BCS championship game to win the national title with a record of 12-2.

© 2016, All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To Top