SEC players all over the Bednarik, Maxwell preseason watch lists


The season creeps ever closer, which means it’s time for the various award groups to begin releasing their preseason “watch lists.” The Bednarik and Maxwell award watch lists were released Tuesday.

The Maxwell Award goes to college football’s best player; the Chuck Bednarik Award goes to the best defensive player. It is no surprise that both watch lists feature numerous SEC players.

Worth noting: While the Maxwell goes to the best player, each of the 90 players on the watch list is an offensive player. Also worth noting: Players can play their way on to – and off – the list during the season. Truthfully, that’s why it’s hard to take these things seriously – and hard to get too upset by the players who aren’t listed (and, in some case, players who are listed).

Bednarik Award (24)

LSU S Jamal Adams
Alabama DE Jonathan Allen
Tennessee DE Derek Barnett
LSU LB Kendell Beckwith
Ole Miss S Tony Conner
Vanderbilt LB Zach Cunningham
Florida LB Jarrad Davis
Auburn DB Jonathan Ford
Alabama LB Reuben Foster
Texas A&M DE Myles Garrett
Texas A&M DE Daeshon Hall
Missouri DE Charles Harris
Ole Miss DE Marquis Haynes
Alabama S Eddie Jackson
Auburn DE Carl Lawson
Florida S Marcus Maye
Tennessee LB Jalen Reeves-Maybin
Georgia S Dominick Sanders
Tennessee CB Cameron Sutton
Florida CB Jalen Tabor
Texas A&M S Armani Watts
LSU CB Tra’Davious White
Alabama LB Tim Williams
Arkansas DE Deatrich Wise Jr.

Maxwell Award (9)

Georgia RB Nick Chubb
Tennessee QB Josh Dobbs
LSU RB Leonard Fournette
Alabama TE O.J. Howard
Tennessee RB Jalen Hurd
Ole Miss QB Chad Kelly
Texas A&M WR Christian Kirk
Texas A&M QB Trevor Knight
Alabama WR Calvin Ridley

Alabama running back Derrick Henry won the Maxwell Award in 2015. The most recent SEC winner of the Bednarik was LSU cornerback Tyrann Mathieu in 2011.

(You can follow Dan Mathews on Twitter @DanMathewsATL)

© 2016, gridironnow.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To Top