4 SEC receivers – but not Antonio Callaway – named to 2017 Biletnikoff Award watch list

Biletnikoff Award
Biletnikoff Award

Fans are used to seeing top receivers from the SEC on the Biletnikoff Award watch list. This time, there’s one big name missing from the group.

Just four receivers from the conference were selected Tuesday to the watch list for the annual award, which honors the top receiver in college football. The quartet: Christian Kirk of Texas A&M, J’Mon Moore of Missouri, Calvin Ridley of Alabama and Deebo Samuel of South Carolina.

Perhaps the most conspicuous omission was Florida’s Antonio Callaway. He has shown his explosive skills during his two seasons in Gainesville, although his career also has been marred by off-field incidents.

With just four nominees, the SEC ranks behind even non-Power Five conferences like the Mid-American Conference, which got a boost from two Toledo wideouts (Jon’Vea Johnson and Cody Thompson) named to the list and has six total.

RELATED: Full list of every SEC player on 2017 preseason award watch lists

© 2016, gridironnow.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To Top