Dave South to receive prestigious award for distinguished broadcasting career

Dave South Texas A&M

South also served as A&M’s associate athletics director for sponsorships and broadcasting through 2009, prior to focusing on his broadcasting duties in semi-retirement.

South becomes the fourth NFF Chris Schenkel Award recipient from a team currently in the SEC, joining Jack Cristil (Mississippi State – 1997), Larry Munson (Georgia – 2003) and Jim Hawthorne (LSU – 2015).

South will be honored during the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner in New York alongside the recipients of the other NFF Major Awards, including retiring Yale athletics director Thomas Beckett and Harvard athletics director Bob Scalise (NFF John L. Toner Award co-recipients for excellence in athletics administration) and the yet-to-be announced recipient of the NFF Gold Medal.

In addition to the presentation of the NFF Major Awards, the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner will provide the stage for the induction of the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class; the presentation of the 2018 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments; and the bestowing of the 29th NFF William V. Campbell Trophy®, presented by Fidelity Investments, to the nation’s top football scholar-athlete.

This year’s College Football Hall of Fame Class includes Trevor Cobb (Rice), Kerry Collins (Penn State), Dave Dickenson (Montana), Dana Howard (Illinois), Calvin Johnson (Georgia Tech), Paul Palmer (Temple), Ed Reed (Miami [Fla.]), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia), Aaron Taylor (Nebraska), Charles Woodson (Michigan) and coaches Frank Beamer (Murray State, Virginia Tech), Mack Brown (Appalachian State, Tulane, North Carolina, Texas) and Mel Tjeerdsma (Austin College [Texas], Northwest Missouri State). The 2018 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments, will be announced this fall, and the winner of the Campbell Trophy® will be announced live at the event on Dec. 4.

NFF Chris Schenkel Award Recipients:

1996 – Chris Schenkel (ABC Sports)
1997 – Jack Cristil (Mississippi State)
1998 – Max Falkenstein (Kansas)
1999 – Jack Fleming (West Virginia)
2000 – Ray Christensen (Minnesota)
2001 – Frank Fallon (Baylor)
2002 – Bob Brooks (Iowa)
2003 – Larry Munson (Georgia)
2004 – Bob Robertson (Washington State)
2005 – Tony Roberts (Notre Dame)
2006 – Johnny Holiday (Maryland)
2007 – Bill Hillgrove (Pittsburgh)
2008 – Bob Curtis (Idaho) and Dick Galiette (Yale)
2009 – Larry Zimmer (Colorado)
2010 – Joe Starkey (California)
2011 – Woody Durham (North Carolina)
2012 – Bob Barry Sr. (Oklahoma)
2013 – Gene Deckerhoff (Florida State)
2014 – Frank Beckmann (Michigan)
2015 – Jim Hawthorne (LSU)
2016 – Bob Rondeau (Washington)
2017 – Jon Teicher (UTEP)
2018 – Dave South (Texas A&M)

2 of 2Next
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to view the next page

© 2016, gridironnow.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To Top