As rivals thrive, Georgia’s title drought drags on

Maurice Smith
Dale Zanine/USA TODAY Sports

Monday night’s thrilling Alabama-Clemson national title game was the latest example of what we already know: College football’s kingdom is ruled by the South.

So, why is Georgia’s last crown so old and tarnished?

Don’t Bulldogs fans have to be looking around at all the other schools in the region and saying, “When will it be our turn?”

Georgia won its last national championship in 1980. Heck, BYU got one in 1984.

Clemson just snapped its title drought, which dated to 1981.

RELATED: Ex-Georgia CB Brandon Boykin challenges recruits after title game

That a heavyweight such as Georgia has gone 36 years without a national title is surprising. But what takes it to a new level are all the other teams in the South that have claimed one since: There have been 23 Southern national champions in that span. These are all teams Georgia recruits against.

Miami and Alabama have five each. Florida and Florida State have three. LSU joins Clemson with two. Georgia Tech, Auburn and Tennessee have each won one national title.

The number is likely to increase. Alabama and FSU are strong title contenders next season. The Bulldogs will be coming off an 8-5 record in coach Kirby Smart’s first season, which featured losses to Georgia Tech, Ole Miss and Vanderbilt.

RELATED: Georgia must keep Atlanta-area talent at ‘home’

There is hope on the horizon — the Bulldogs have promising quarterback Jacob Eason and Smart is putting together an incredible recruiting class — but Bulldogs fans will have to endure seeing another Southern fan base with all-new national-championship gear this offseason. Those 1980 national-title shirts are probably tattered by now.

(You can email Hays at email hidden; JavaScript is required and follow him on Twitter @HaysCarlyon)

© 2016, gridironnow.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To Top