Alabama Team News

Henry, Ragland, McElwain get SEC awards

The SEC handed out individual hardware Wednesday, and Alabama RB Derrick Henry was named the SEC Offensive Player of the Year.

Other SEC awards: Alabama LB Reggie Ragland was the SEC Defensive Player of the Year, Tennessee’s Evan Berry was named the SEC Special Teams Player of the Year, Texas A&M WR Christian Kirk was the SEC Freshman of the Year and Alabama C Ryan Kelly and Arkansas G Sebastian Tretola shared the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, which goes to the league’s top lineman. Florida’s Jim McElwain was the SEC Coach of the Year.

Alabama is the first school to have both the offensive and defensive player of the year in the same season since the league began handing out the awards in 2003. Berry is the first Volunteers player to win an individual award since his brother, Eric, was SEC Defensive Player of the Year in 2008. McElwain was the Mountain West Conference Coach of the Year last season, when he was at Colorado State.

© 2016, All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To Top