Alabama Team News

36 ridiculous omissions from the College Football Hall of Fame

WEINKE, SMITH AND SALAAM, photos courtesy of the Heisman Trust

I tend to think I know a great deal about college football until the finalists and inductees for the College Football Hall of Fame are announced, at which point I realize, apparently, I know nothing.

Either I know nothing or the 12,000 members of the National Football Foundation who vote on enshrinement know nothing. Every year I look at the finalists – and the legends who aren’t even finalists – and I’m stunned by the omissions.

Mind you, there is no high end limit on the number of members who could be enshrined every year, but somehow, many of the greatest players I’ve observed in 25 years covering college football just don’t make muster.

My gripes won’t even tread into the absurdity of five Heisman Trophy winners not being in the Hall – Rashaan Salaam, Chris Weinke, Eric Crouch, Jason White and Troy Smith.

What are we doing here?

Heisman winners who won national titles. Legends to a man and somehow not Hall-worthy?

But LSU’s Bert Jones, who was inducted last year, is?

No offense to Bert Jones, but he’s not on the same level as any of the Heisman winners I just mentioned. A fine player in his own right, maybe a Hall of Famer, but he was inducted last year after concluding his career in 1972 and Troy Smith is on the outside looking in?

The only mandatory qualifications the Hall places on potential inductees is that they were named first-team All-American by one of the numerous services the NCAA recognizes to do so and that their college playing career has been over for at least 10 years.

Here are the inductees for 2018, and what follows are the most ridiculous omissions.

Prev1 of 7
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to view the next page

© 2016, All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To Top