You’ll never believe the school with SEC’s longest current bowl/NCAA tourney streak

Kentucky coaches with longest streaks in SEC

Nine SEC teams made a bowl game in 2017, eight SEC teams made this season’s NCAA tournament and five advanced to the postseason in both sports.

Incredibly, though, just one SEC school has more than a one-season streak of making both a NCAA appearance and a bowl game – Kentucky.

The eight teams to make it to the Big Dance this season: Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Kentucky, Missouri, Tennessee and Texas A&M. The five to also make a bowl: Alabama, Auburn, Kentucky, Missouri and Texas A&M. But UK is the only one of that quintet that also did the same thing in the 2016-17 school year.

Here’s a look at the most recent NCAA tournament appearance for each SEC school:

Alabama: This season (first bid since 2012)
Arkansas: This season (second bid in a row and third in four seasons)
Auburn: This season (first bid since 2003)
Florida: This season (second bid in a row and seventh in nine seasons)
Georgia: 2015
Kentucky: This season (fourth bid in a row and eighth in nine seasons)
LSU: 2015
Mississippi State: 2009
Missouri: This season (first bid since 2013)
Ole Miss: 2015
South Carolina: 2017
Tennessee: This season (first bid since 2014)
Texas A&M: This season (first bid since 2016)
Vanderbilt: 2017

RELATED: The 2018 SEC championship game? No doubt it’s going to be Alabama-Georgia

Here’s a look at the most recent bowl game for each SEC school:

Alabama: 2017 (14th in a row)
Arkansas: 2016
Auburn: 2017 (fifth in a row)
Florida: 2016
Georgia: 2017 (21st in a row)
Kentucky: 2017 (second in a row)
LSU: 2017 (18th in a row)
Mississippi State: 2017 (eighth in a row)
Missouri: 2017 (first since 2014)
Ole Miss: 2015 (was bowl eligible in 2017 but self-imposed bowl ban)
South Carolina: 2017 (second in a row)
Tennessee: 2016
Texas A&M: 2017 (ninth in a row)
Vanderbilt: 2016

RELATED: Ranking the 14 SEC games on the opening weekend of 2018 season

(You can follow Mike Huguenin on Twitter @MikeHuguenin)

© 2016, gridironnow.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To Top